CHF - Swiss Franc

The Swiss franc is the official currency of Switzerland and Liechtenstein. The abbreviation for Swiss franc is CHF which stands for Confoederatio Helvetica franc. It was established as the official currency of the country in 1798. It's the only remaining version of the franc that is still used across Europe. Switzerland's economy is considered as one of the safest in the world due to the country's political neutrality and zero inflation policy. It's, therefore, a strong and stable currency that has served as a secure harbor for international investors that want to buffer against instability while taking advantage of a quality market economy that maintains some level of bank secrecy.

The most popular currency pair involving the CHF is USDCHF (the Swissie). It is also the fifth most traded currency in the Forex market. The Swiss Franc is offered in banknotes (bills) and coins. The bank notes are issued by the Swiss National Bank while the Swiss Mint issues the coins. There are six different bills in circulation, and these include 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 1000 Swiss Francs with each bill having a unique size, colour and design. Switzerland is a multilingual country that recognizes four languages (German, French, Italian and Romansh) which are also featured on its banknotes. The Swiss franc has a low purchasing power due to the high cost of living in Switzerland.

CHF Pairs

Trade Responsibly:Your capital is at risk. Leveraged products may not be suitable for everyone. Please consider our Risk Disclosure.
+ +